Frack Off Romania

Home » Protests » DAY 22 OF HUNGER STRIKE, SANDU DECIDES TO EXIT THIS PROTEST FORM

DAY 22 OF HUNGER STRIKE, SANDU DECIDES TO EXIT THIS PROTEST FORM

Alexandru Popescu (Sandu) has announced today, 12th of January, that he will exit the hunger strike he has started on 21st of December 2013. Today, people will gather in front of the National Theater in Bucharest to thank him!
That’s his declaration: „Dear friends, this is the 22nd day of hunger strike for me. It’s the day when I have to tell you that I have to give up this form of protest. The reasons are easy to imagine – my health situation changed a lor during the last days, I am feeling weak and tired and I counsider that I have reached the limit from where my health would be hard to recover. Today, around 4.00 PM I will be leaving the stairs where you have all visited me during the last 3 weeks.

sandu

When I entered this protest I said that I am not expecting miracles from the authorities, there was nothing like this coming from them. But the miracles did happen there where I supposed them to happen: among the people passing by and among you, those who were next to me. I thank all those who were here, in their hearts or even next to me, according to everyone’s possibility. Maybe my gesture did not move mountains (or rigs), but it has brought people together – this is what I have seen around me.

I hope you will all forgive me that, in my wish to bring more visibility to the protests in Pungesti, I have ressorted to a gesture that has spoiled the winter holidays of you, the days or the nights. Thank you all once again for your care and I hope you can understand my decision. We will see eachother soon. In Pungesti, the problems continue.
Sandu.”

Leave a Reply

